Login   •   Register   •   Member List   •   skip to content

Committee on UNO Awards announces winners

The Commission on UNO Awards and Recognition formally announced the results of the search for UNO awardees for the years 2005 & 2006 at Congress XI. According to its chairman Benny Fulgencio ‘65, the awards will be conferred in formal ceremonies on a date and venue to be announced by the USPAA Secretariat and the UNO Commission.

After days of careful deliberation, the seven-man panel of judges chaired by Fellow Efren Yambot ‘60, with members Carlo Magno ‘58, Ponciano Rivera ‘61, Carlos Pedrosa ‘62, Gari Tiongco ‘62, Romeo Gecolea ‘63 and Dante Canlas ‘65 were unanimous in approving and endorsing the conferment of the UNO award to Onofre D. Corpuz ‘47, National Scientist, former UP President and Minister of Education; Fernando F. Piedad ‘52, physician, gastroenterologist, and specialist in internal medicine; and Willy C. Gaa ‘66, Philippine Ambassador to the United States of America.

The UNO AWARD is the highest form of recognition conferred on Upsilonians who have passed the criteria set in the Five Imperatives of Membership in the UPSILON SIGMA PHI namely Brotherhood, Integrity, Excellence, Leadership and Service. The process of selection of the UNO awardees focused on establishing a continuous body of lifetime work and accomplishments marked with excellence, consistent high quality, concern for the greater good, and integrity and conduct beyond reproach.

These three UNO awardees now join the august company of twenty-six other outstanding and venerable Upsilonians namely: Antonio Quirino ‘26, Mateo A.T. Caparas ‘41, Mario D. Camacho ‘51, Benigno S. Aquino ‘50, Salvador H. Laurel ‘47, Joker P. Arroyo ‘48, Ponciano G.A. Mathay ‘48, Edgardo B. Espiritu ‘55, Alberto Montemayor ‘46, Salvador P. Lopez ‘31, Catalino T. Macaraig, Jr. ‘47, Armando J. Malay ‘34, Gerardo M. Roxas ‘46, Arturo M. Tolentino ‘31, Jose B. Laurel ‘32, Pio P. Pedrosa ‘22, Alfredo T. Ramirez ‘57, Ruben L. Villareal ‘57, Richard T. Gordon ‘68, Wenceslao Q. Vinzons ‘30, Jose O. Juliano ‘49, Antonio B. Donesa ‘52, Romulo G. Davide ‘54, Dante B. Canlas ‘65, Marcos R. Vega, Jr. ‘51 and Jose R. Moreno ‘48.